Medicine Interview Dates 2026: Every UK Medical School
By Michael Thompson · Education Specialist; 10 years teaching the IB at Bromsgrove School · Published 26 October 2026 · Updated 28 October 2026
Medicine interviews for 2027 entry run from November 2026 to April 2027, with most schools interviewing in December, January and February, and every medical school sets its own dates. This page lists the interview dates, format and mode for all 45 UK medical schools' standard-entry medicine courses, from each school's own course page, with the months grouped so you can see when invitations are likely for the schools you chose.
Key Takeaways
- November to April: December and January are the busiest months; Oxford and Cambridge interview in December.
- Most schools use MMI: 36 of 45; the rest use a panel, a group exercise or a mix, and Keele names no format.
- Dates are published by most: 37 schools give dates; eight say they interview but give none on the course page.
In This Article
- Medicine interview dates 2026 at a glance
- Interview dates by medical school
- Schools that do not publish dates
- How the format differs
- How this page was built
- What to do next
1. Medicine interview dates 2026 at a glance
Forty-five UK medical schools interview for their standard-entry medicine course, and 37 of them publish when. The season starts in November, is busiest in December, January and February, and runs into April at six schools (Brunel lists later provisional dates for international applicants): Oxford and Cambridge interview in December, most other schools open in December or January and run for several weeks. Thirty-six schools use multiple mini interviews (MMI); the others use a panel, a group task or a mix, and Keele names no format.
A school is counted in every month its published dates cover:
| Month | Schools interviewing |
|---|---|
| November | Bristol, Brunel, East Anglia, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Hertfordshire |
| December | Aberdeen, Anglia Ruskin, Aston, Bangor (North Wales), Brighton and Sussex, Bristol, Cambridge, City St George's, East Anglia, Edinburgh, Exeter, Glasgow, Hertfordshire, Hull York, Keele, Kent and Medway, King's, Lancashire (UCLan), Leicester, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Oxford, Plymouth, St Andrews, Sunderland, UCL |
| January | Anglia Ruskin, Aston, Barts (QMUL), Birmingham, Brighton and Sussex, Bristol, Brunel, Cambridge, Dundee, East Anglia, Edinburgh, Exeter, Glasgow, Hertfordshire, Hull York, Imperial, Keele, King's, Lancashire (UCLan), Lancaster, Leeds, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Plymouth, Sheffield, Southampton, St Andrews, Sunderland, UCL |
| February | Aston, Barts (QMUL), Birmingham, Brighton and Sussex, Bristol, Brunel, East Anglia, Exeter, Glasgow, Hertfordshire, Imperial, Keele, Kent and Medway, King's, Lancashire (UCLan), Lancaster, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Plymouth, Sheffield, Southampton, St Andrews, UCL |
| March | Aston, Bristol, Brunel, East Anglia, Exeter, Glasgow, Hertfordshire, Keele, Kent and Medway, King's, Lancashire (UCLan), Manchester, St Andrews, UCL |
| April | Bristol, Brunel, Hertfordshire, Keele, King's, Lancashire (UCLan) |
Brunel also lists provisional dates in May, June and July, for international applicants.
2. Interview dates by medical school
Fifteen schools have their own page with the format, the numbers and what is assessed: Imperial, UCL, King's, Barts (QMUL), Manchester, Nottingham, Leicester, Glasgow, Leeds, Sheffield, Edinburgh, Liverpool, Exeter, Birmingham and Cardiff.
| Medical school | Interview dates | Format | Mode |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aberdeen | 14-18 December 2026 (source) | MMI | in person |
| Anglia Ruskin | 7-11 December 2026 and 7-13 January 2027; decisions by end of March 2027 (source) | MMI, six stations, seven minutes per station, plus two minutes reading outside; about one hour in total | in person |
| Aston | normally December to March of the application year; invitees choose from a number of dates (source) | MMI | online |
| Bangor (North Wales) | December (source) | MMI, six stations, two questions each | in person |
| Barts (QMUL) | January to February (source) | panel | online |
| Birmingham | invitations December to January; interviews January and February; decisions by mid-March (source) | MMI, Home: six or seven stations; International: at least two online stations plus a separate online calculations station, eight minutes per station, including two minutes preparation | online or in person |
| Brighton and Sussex | December 2026 to February 2027 (in person early December or early January; Zoom late January or early February) (source) | MMI, five stations | online or in person |
| Bristol | applicants must be available November to April after applying (source) | MMI, six stations | online |
| Brunel | Home: 16-21 February 2027 or 9-14 March 2027; International: 17-22 November 2026, 12-17 January, 13-18 April, 18-23 May, 15-20 June, 6-11 July 2027 (provisional) (source) | MMI, six stations | online |
| Buckingham | not published on the course page (source) | MMI | not stated |
| Cambridge | main interview period 7-18 December 2026; winter pool mid to late January 2027; invitations mostly in November (some early December); outcome in January (source) | panel, varies by College (most applicants 1-2; some 3-4), 35 minutes to one hour in total for most applicants (varies by College) | online or in person |
| Cardiff | not published on the course page (source) | MMI | online or in person |
| City St George's | December 2026 (the course page's date range is internally inconsistent; check it before you travel) (source) | MMI, six stations | online or in person |
| Dundee | January (source) | group, one interview in two parts (observed group discussion, then assessor-led discussion), 1 h 40 minutes including registration and welcome; group discussion about 30 minutes | online or in person |
| East Anglia | November to March; invitations from late November/December (source) | MMI, six stations, five minutes per station, plus 1.5 minutes preparation | in person |
| Edge Hill | not published on the course page (source) | MMI | not stated |
| Edinburgh | November to January (source) | MMI, three stations, half-day assessment day | online or in person |
| Exeter | December to March (source) | MMI | online or in person |
| Glasgow | late November 2026 to March 2027 (source) | panel, one interview in two sections (Panel A, Panel B), 30 minutes in total | online |
| Greater Manchester | not published on the course page (source) | MMI | online |
| Hertfordshire | November 2026 to April 2027 (source) | MMI, seven questions | online |
| Hull York | December and January (source) | MMI, Home (in person): group exercise, mini interview 1, mini interview 2, scenario station, student station; overseas (online): mini interviews 1-3, student station, individual scenario station, group exercise station | online or in person |
| Imperial | typically January to February (invitations rolling from December) (source) | MMI | online or in person |
| Keele | December 2026 to April 2027; earliest decisions January/February 2027, final decisions by end of March 2027 (some April) (source) | two interviews | online |
| Kent and Medway | December (several days, Canterbury); further MMIs possible February/March (source) | MMI | online or in person |
| King's | usually December to April (source) | MMI | online |
| Lancashire (UCLan) | UK: from December 2026, interview stage December to April at Preston; international: complete the online MMI by a set date (source) | MMI, usually 6-10 stations | online or in person |
| Lancaster | January and February; at least two weeks' notice of the individual MMI date (source) | MMI | online |
| Leeds | face-to-face 4, 5 and 6 January 2027 (source) | MMI, eight stations | online or in person |
| Leicester | Home (in person, George Davies Centre): 8-18 December 2026 and 6-13 January 2027; International (online): 8-12 February 2027; invitations from late November; offers early January to mid-May (source) | MMI | online or in person |
| Lincoln | not published on the course page (source) | MMI, seven stations | in person |
| Liverpool | expected three weeks between mid-January and mid-February 2027 (to be confirmed); none after 5 March 2027 (source) | MMI | online or in person |
| Manchester | usually December to early March (source) | MMI, five stations | online or in person |
| Newcastle | generally December to February (source) | mixed | online or in person |
| Nottingham | 15 December 2026 to 29 January 2027; offers typically during March (source) | MMI, six scenarios, including at least one role play, up to one hour | online or in person |
| Oxford | Mon 14 or Tue 15 December 2026; invitations usually mid-November to early December (source) | panel, interviews at two colleges | online |
| Plymouth | typically December to February; date chosen through an online booking system (source) | MMI, five stations | online |
| Queen's Belfast | not published on the course page (source) | MMI | not stated |
| Sheffield | MMIs and online panel interviews 8 January to 4 February 2027; international (online) 12-14 January 2027 (source) | mixed, eight MMI sections (Home) | online or in person |
| Southampton | selection days January to end of February 2027 (exact dates due in the autumn); invitations two to three weeks ahead for Home applicants and five to six weeks ahead for international applicants (source) | mixed, one interview + group task | in person |
| St Andrews | early December, then January, February and March (usually) (source) | MMI, four stations, about six minutes per station | online or in person |
| St Mary's Twickenham | not published on the course page (source) | MMI | online |
| Sunderland | from week commencing 7 December 2026, through December and early January (source) | MMI | in person |
| Swansea | not published on the course page (source) | MMI, three stations, 20-30 minutes per station | in person |
| UCL | December to March (rolling invitations, normally at least one week's notice) (source) | MMI, up to eight stations | online or in person |
3. Schools that do not publish dates
Eight schools state that they interview but give no dates on the course page: Buckingham, Cardiff, Edge Hill, Greater Manchester, Lincoln, Queen's Belfast, St Mary's Twickenham and Swansea. Their invitations still follow the same season, and the invitation itself gives the date. Check the school's admissions page in November rather than waiting for your UCAS Hub to change.
4. How the format differs
The MMI is the common format: a circuit of short stations, each with its own interviewer and scenario, from three to ten stations where the school publishes a number. Barts (QMUL), Cambridge, Glasgow and Oxford use a panel interview instead; Dundee, Newcastle, Sheffield and Southampton combine formats or use a group exercise; Keele gives two interviews of 15 minutes, usually two hours apart, without naming a format. The page on how many applicants each medical school interviews shows how many applicants each school invites and how many of those receive an offer.
5. How this page was built
Interview dates, format and mode come from each medical school's course page for the standard-entry medicine course (UCAS code A100 where the school uses it), linked in the table. Graduate-entry, foundation and gateway routes are left out; the directory page for each school links to them. Each page was read on 18 October 2026 and the figures were exported on 21 October 2026; nothing on this page is estimated, and where a university does not publish a figure the page says so. Universities change interview arrangements between cycles, so treat the course page you are applying to as the final word and this page as the way to compare courses side by side.
6. What to do next
Check each school you applied to in the table and note whether it gives fixed dates or a rolling window: for a rolling window from December, keep your diary flexible until the end of the month listed. Then prepare for the format each one uses; an eight-station MMI and an Oxford panel interview at two colleges reward different habits. The guide to how to get into medicine in the UK covers the MMI and what schools assess, and the hub page on Oxbridge and medicine interviews 2026 links every interview page on this site.
FAQ
When are medicine interviews in the UK?
Between November and April, with most schools interviewing in December, January and February. Oxford and Cambridge interview in December; other schools open in December or January and run for several weeks.
How much notice do medical schools give for an interview?
Few course pages say: Lancaster (at least two weeks' notice of the individual MMI date), Southampton (invitations two to three weeks ahead for Home applicants and five to six weeks ahead for international applicants), and UCL (rolling invitations, normally at least one week's notice). For the others, the invitation gives the date and the notice.
Are medicine interviews online or in person?
Eight schools interview in person, 13 online and 21 either way; three do not say. The table gives the mode for each school.
What is an MMI?
A multiple mini interview: a circuit of short stations, each with its own interviewer and task, for example a role-play with an actor, an ethical scenario or a data question. Thirty-six UK medical schools use it.
References
- University of Aberdeen: Medicine (MBChB) course page - https://www.abdn.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/degree-programmes/796/A100/medicine-5-years/
- Anglia Ruskin University: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.aru.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/medicine
- Aston University: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.aston.ac.uk/study/courses/medicine-mbchb/september-2027
- Bangor University (North Wales Medical School): Medicine BMBS course page - https://www.bangor.ac.uk/courses/undergraduate/a100-medicine-bmbs
- Queen Mary University of London: Medicine MBBS 5 Years (A100) course page - https://www.qmul.ac.uk/fmd/study/undergraduate/courses/a100/
- University of Birmingham: Medicine and Surgery MBChB course page - https://www.birmingham.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/subjects/medicine-courses/medicine-and-surgery-mbchb
- Brighton and Sussex Medical School: BM BS (Medicine) course page - https://www.bsms.ac.uk/undergraduate/applying-to-bsms/entry-requirements.aspx
- University of Bristol: MB ChB Medicine course page - https://www.bristol.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/2027/medicine/mb-chb-medicine/
- Brunel University of London: Medicine MBBS course page - https://www.brunel.ac.uk/study/courses/medicine-mbbs
- University of Buckingham: MB ChB Medicine (4.5-year degree) course page - https://www.buckingham.ac.uk/courses/undergraduate/mb-chb-medicine-4.5-year-degree
- University of Cambridge: Medicine, MB and BChir course page - https://www.undergraduate.study.cam.ac.uk/courses/medicine-mb-bchir
- Cardiff University: Medicine (MBBCh) course page - https://www.cardiff.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/course/medicine-mbbch
- City St George's, University of London: Medicine MBBS course page - https://www.citystgeorges.ac.uk/prospective-students/courses/undergraduate/medicine/2027
- University of Dundee: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.dundee.ac.uk/undergraduate/medicine
- University of East Anglia: MBBS Medicine course page - https://www.uea.ac.uk/course/undergraduate/mbbs-medicine
- Edge Hill University: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.edgehill.ac.uk/course/medicine/
- University of Edinburgh: MBChB Medicine (6-year programme) course page - https://study.ed.ac.uk/programmes/undergraduate/354-mbchb-medicine-6-year-programme
- University of Exeter: BMBS Medicine course page - https://www.exeter.ac.uk/undergraduate-degrees/bmbs-medicine/
- University of Glasgow: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.gla.ac.uk/undergraduate/degrees/medicine/
- University of Greater Manchester: MBChB Medicine course page - https://greatermanchester.ac.uk/course/mbchb-medicine-full-time-5-years-university-of-greater-manchester/2027-28
- University of Hertfordshire: Medicine MBBS course page - https://www.herts.ac.uk/courses/undergraduate/mbbs-medicine
- Hull York Medical School: MB BS Medicine course page - https://www.hyms.ac.uk/medicine/mbbs-medicine
- Imperial College London: Medicine MBBS/BSc course page - https://www.imperial.ac.uk/study/courses/undergraduate/medicine/
- Keele University: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.keele.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/undergraduatecourses/medicine/
- Kent and Medway Medical School: Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery course page - https://kmms.ac.uk/entry-requirements-2027/
- King's College London: Medicine MBBS course page - https://www.kcl.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/medicine-mbbs
- University of Lancashire: Medicine & Surgery MBBS course page - https://www.lancashire.ac.uk/undergraduate/courses/medicine-mbbs
- Lancaster University: Medicine and Surgery MBChB course page - https://www.lancaster.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/medicine-and-surgery-mbchb-a100/2027/
- University of Leeds: Medicine and Surgery MBChB course page - https://courses.leeds.ac.uk/5580/medicine-and-surgery-mbchb
- University of Leicester: Medicine MBChB course page - https://le.ac.uk/courses/medicine-mbchb/2027?option=September%202027
- University of Lincoln: Medicine MBChB course page - https://www.lincoln.ac.uk/course/mdcmbcub/
- University of Liverpool: Medicine and Surgery MBChB course page - https://www.liverpool.ac.uk/courses/medicine-and-surgery-mbchb/2027
- University of Manchester: MBChB Medicine course page - https://www.manchester.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/2027/01428/mbchb-medicine/
- Newcastle University: Medicine and Surgery MB BS course page - https://www.ncl.ac.uk/undergraduate/2027/degrees/a100/
- University of Nottingham: Medicine BMBS (Hons) course page - https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/studywithus/ugstudy/courses/UG/Medicine-BMBS-U6UBMBSC3.html
- University of Oxford: Medicine course page - https://www.ox.ac.uk/admissions/undergraduate/courses/course-listing/medicine
- University of Plymouth: BMBS Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery course page - https://www.plymouth.ac.uk/courses/undergraduate/bmbs-bachelor-of-medicine-bachelor-of-surgery
- Queen's University Belfast: MB BCh BAO Medicine course page - https://www.medschools.ac.uk/courses/queens-university-belfast-medicine-a100/
- University of Sheffield: Medicine MBChB course page - https://sheffield.ac.uk/undergraduate/courses/2027/medicine-mbchb
- University of Southampton: Medicine BM5 (BMBS) course page - https://www.southampton.ac.uk/courses/medicine-bm5-degree-bmbs
- University of St Andrews: Medicine BSc (Hons) A100 course page - https://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/subjects/medicine/medicine-bsc-a100/
- St Mary's University, Twickenham: Medicine MBBS course page - https://www.stmarys.ac.uk/courses/undergraduate/mbbs-medicine-degree
- University of Sunderland: MBChB Medicine course page - https://www.sunderland.ac.uk/undergraduate/mbchb-medicine
- Swansea University: Medicine, MB BCh course page - https://www.swansea.ac.uk/undergraduate/courses/medicine/medicine-mbbch/
- University College London: Medicine MBBS BSc course page - https://www.ucl.ac.uk/study/prospective-students/undergraduate/courses/medicine-mbbs-bsc