Oxford Interview Dates 2026: Every Course and Invitations

By Michael Thompson · Education Specialist; 10 years teaching the IB at Bromsgrove School · Published 26 October 2026 · Updated 28 October 2026

Oxford interviews for 2027 entry run online from 7 to 18 December 2026, with the Foundation Year courses interviewing in March. This page lists the interview dates for every one of Oxford's 48 undergraduate courses from the University's own course pages, with the number of interviews, the length where Oxford states one, and what the course asks you to do before the day. Invitations for Medicine usually arrive from mid-November; the other course pages give dates only.

Key Takeaways

In This Article

  1. Oxford interview dates 2026 at a glance
  2. Interview dates by course
  3. How many interviews, and how long
  4. Before the interview: tests, written work and reading
  5. The Foundation Year courses
  6. How this page was built
  7. What to do next

1. Oxford interview dates 2026 at a glance

Oxford interview dates, in figures: bar chart of the number of Oxford courses interviewing on each weekday from 7 Dec to 18 Dec 2026: 7 Dec 28, 8 Dec 30, 9 Dec 33, 10 Dec 28, 11 Dec 20, 14 Dec 36, 15 Dec 38, 16 Dec 30, 17 Dec 13, 18 Dec 1. The busiest day is 15 Dec with 38 courses.
Oxford interview dates, in figures: bar chart of the number of Oxford courses interviewing on each weekday from 7 Dec to 18 Dec 2026: 7 Dec 28, 8 Dec 30, 9 Dec 33, 10 Dec 28, 11 Dec 20, 14 Dec 36, 15 Dec 38, 16 Dec 30, 17 Dec 13, 18 Dec 1. The busiest day is 15 Dec with 38 courses.

Oxford interviews every shortlisted applicant on 48 undergraduate courses from 7 to 18 December 2026, and all of them are held online. Thirty-two courses list additional dates after their main ones; if you are given one, your invitation says so. The four Foundation Year courses interview later, in March.

Most courses fit into a handful of windows, so the Oxford interview timetable is shorter than 48 rows: each row below is one set of dates with every course that uses it, in the order the first interviews start.

Interview datesCourses
7-10 December 2026Biochemistry (Molecular and Cellular), Philosophy and Theology, Theology and Religion
7-11 December 2026Biology
7-10 December 2026; additional 15-16 December 2026Chemistry
7-8 December 2026; additional 11-15 December 2026Classical Archaeology and Ancient History
7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026Classics, Classics and Modern Languages, English and Modern Languages, History and Modern Languages, Modern Languages, Modern Languages and Linguistics, Philosophy and Modern Languages
7-10 December 2026; additional 10-16 December 2026Classics and Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, European and Middle Eastern Languages
7-9 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026Classics and English, English Language and Literature
7-9 December 2026; additional 11 December 2026Fine Art, Law (Jurisprudence)
7-11 December 2026; additional 14-17 December 2026History, History (Ancient and Modern), History and Economics, History and English, History and Politics
7-8 December 2026History of Art
7-9 December 2026; additional 14 December 2026Music
7-9 December 2026; additional 11-16 December 2026Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)
7-11 December 2026; additional 10-15 December 2026Religion and Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
8-11 December 2026; additional 10-15 December 2026Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
8-11 December 2026; additional 15 December 2026Human Sciences
9-10 December 2026Biomedical Sciences
9-11 December 2026; additional 15-16 December 2026Economics and Management
9-16 December 2026Geography
9-15 December 2026Physics, Physics and Philosophy
10-16 December 2026Materials Science
14-15 December 2026; additional 17 December 2026Archaeology and Anthropology
14-17 December 2026; additional 16-17 December 2026Computer Science, Computer Science and Philosophy, Mathematics / Mathematics and Statistics, Mathematics and Computer Science, Mathematics and Philosophy
14-16 December 2026Earth Sciences (Geology), Psychology (Experimental), Psychology, Philosophy and Linguistics
14-17 December 2026Engineering Science
Mon 14 or Tue 15 December 2026; invitations usually mid-November to early DecemberMedicine
Thu 17 December 2026 (first college) and Fri 18 December 2026 (second college); invitations usually mid-November to early DecemberMedicine (graduate-entry / accelerated)

The Medicine course page is the one that says when to expect the invitation: usually from mid-November to early December. The other course pages publish the dates only, so treat the Medicine timing as the best published guide and check your email, including the junk folder, from the middle of November.

2. Interview dates by course

Every Oxford course that interviews, with the dates, the number of interviews the course page describes and the length where Oxford states one. Every interview is online. Course names link to the course's page in our directory, which carries the entry requirements and the admissions test.

CourseInterview dates 2026InterviewsLength
Archaeology and Anthropology14-15 December 2026; additional 17 December 2026at least 2 (college of preference + another college)not stated
Asian and Middle Eastern Studies8-11 December 2026; additional 10-15 December 2026Faculty interview plus college interview(s)not stated
Biochemistry (Molecular and Cellular)7-10 December 20262 (two different colleges)not stated
Biology7-11 December 20262 (two different colleges)not stated
Biomedical Sciences9-10 December 2026at least 1not stated
Chemistry7-10 December 2026; additional 15-16 December 2026at least 2 at the first-assigned college; possibly more at other collegesnot stated
Classical Archaeology and Ancient History7-8 December 2026; additional 11-15 December 2026at least 1not stated
Classics7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026at least 1not stated
Classics and Asian and Middle Eastern Studies7-10 December 2026; additional 10-16 December 2026Faculty interview plus college interview(s)not stated
Classics and English7-9 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026at least 1not stated
Classics and Modern Languages7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026typically one per language/subjectapproximately 30 minutes
Computer Science14-17 December 2026; additional 16-17 December 2026usually 2 at the first-choice college + at least 1 at another collegearound 30 minutes each
Computer Science and Philosophy14-17 December 2026; additional 16-17 December 2026usually 2 at the first-choice college + at least 1 at another collegearound 30 minutes each
Earth Sciences (Geology)14-16 December 20262 (one more quantitative, one more qualitative)around 30 minutes each
Economics and Management9-11 December 2026; additional 15-16 December 2026at least 1not stated
Engineering Science14-17 December 20262about 30-45 minutes (first interview); about 30 minutes (second interview, at another college)
English and Modern Languages7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026typically one per language/subjectapproximately 30 minutes
English Language and Literature7-9 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026usually 2not stated
European and Middle Eastern Languages7-10 December 2026; additional 10-16 December 2026typically one per language/subjectapproximately 30 minutes
Fine Art7-9 December 2026; additional 11 December 20261-2 (Ruskin panel; some candidates also a college panel)not stated
Geography9-16 December 2026usually at one college onlynot stated
History7-11 December 2026; additional 14-17 December 2026standard 1 (some colleges give two interviews of 15 minutes); possible second interview at a different college30 minutes (or two interviews of 15 minutes at some colleges)
History (Ancient and Modern)7-11 December 2026; additional 14-17 December 2026standard 1 (some colleges give two interviews of 15 minutes); possible second interview at a different college30 minutes (or two interviews of 15 minutes at some colleges)
History and Economics7-11 December 2026; additional 14-17 December 20262 (one for each side of the course)30 minutes (or two interviews of 15 minutes at some colleges)
History and English7-11 December 2026; additional 14-17 December 20262 (one for each side of the course)30 minutes (or two interviews of 15 minutes at some colleges)
History and Modern Languages7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026History: 2 (one for each side of the course); Modern Languages: typically one per language/subjectHistory: 30 minutes (or two interviews of 15 minutes at some colleges); Modern Languages: approximately 30 minutes
History and Politics7-11 December 2026; additional 14-17 December 20262 (one for each side of the course)30 minutes (or two interviews of 15 minutes at some colleges)
History of Art7-8 December 20262not stated
Human Sciences8-11 December 2026; additional 15 December 2026at least 1not stated
Law (Jurisprudence)7-9 December 2026; additional 11 December 2026at least 2 at the first collegeno more than 30 minutes
Materials Science10-16 December 20262 (college of choice + another college)not stated
Mathematics / Mathematics and Statistics14-17 December 2026; additional 16-17 December 20261-2 at the first-choice college + at least 1 at another collegeabout 25 minutes each
Mathematics and Computer Science14-17 December 2026; additional 16-17 December 2026Mathematics: 1-2 at the first-choice college + at least 1 at another college; Computer Science: usually 2 at the first-choice college + at least 1 at another collegeMathematics: about 25 minutes each; Computer Science: around 30 minutes each
Mathematics and Philosophy14-17 December 2026; additional 16-17 December 20261-2 at the first-choice college + at least 1 at another collegeabout 25 minutes each
MedicineMon 14 or Tue 15 December 2026; invitations usually mid-November to early Decemberinterviews at two collegesnot stated
Medicine (graduate-entry / accelerated)Thu 17 December 2026 (first college) and Fri 18 December 2026 (second college); invitations usually mid-November to early Decemberinterviews at two collegesnot stated
Modern Languages7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026typically one per language/subjectapproximately 30 minutes
Modern Languages and Linguistics7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026typically one per language/subjectapproximately 30 minutes
Music7-9 December 2026; additional 14 December 2026at least 2 (two different colleges); possible third, panel interviewnot stated
Philosophy and Modern Languages7-10 December 2026; additional 14-16 December 2026typically one per language/subjectapproximately 30 minutes
Philosophy and Theology7-10 December 2026Theology: at least 2 (Theology and Religion interviews in at least two colleges); Philosophy: plus a Philosophy interview in at least one collegeabout 25-30 minutes
Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)7-9 December 2026; additional 11-16 December 2026at least 1not stated
Physics9-15 December 2026normally 2 at the first college (sometimes 1 long or 3 short); + 1 at a randomly assigned second collegenot stated
Physics and Philosophy9-15 December 2026Physics: normally 2 at the first college (sometimes 1 long or 3 short); + 1 at a randomly assigned second college; Philosophy: + one or more Philosophy interviewsnot stated
Psychology (Experimental)14-16 December 2026two colleges by defaultnot stated
Psychology, Philosophy and Linguistics14-16 December 2026two colleges by defaultnot stated
Religion and Asian and Middle Eastern Studies7-11 December 2026; additional 10-15 December 2026Theology: at least 2 (Theology and Religion interviews in at least two colleges); AMES: plus an interview at the AMES Facultyabout 25-30 minutes
Theology and Religion7-10 December 2026at least 2 (Theology and Religion interviews in at least two colleges)about 25-30 minutes

3. How many interviews, and how long

Oxford does not run one standard interview. Twenty-nine of the 48 courses describe two or more interviews, usually at two different colleges or one for each side of a joint course; the rest say at least one, one per language, or a faculty interview plus a college one.

Twenty-three course pages state a length, and almost all sit between 25 and 45 minutes; the History courses add that some colleges give two interviews of 15 minutes instead. The Length column above gives each course's wording. The other 25 course pages give no length, and tutors there tend to use the time the problem needs rather than a fixed slot.

Interviews are with Oxford academic tutors, typically two tutors per interview; the Medicine page adds that Fellows, Junior Research Fellows and graduate academics may sit on the panel. Our guide to what an Oxford interview is like sets out, course by course, what the tutors hand you and what they are assessing.

4. Before the interview: tests, written work and reading

Shortlisting happens before the dates above; where a course sets an admissions test, it is sat in October or November. The table lists every course whose page sets a task for the interview itself: written work to send, reading to do, or material to prepare.

CourseBefore or at the interview
Archaeology and Anthropologywritten work (three pieces of writing); possibly a short passage to read before the interview
Asian and Middle Eastern Studieswritten work (two pieces of writing)
Biochemistry (Molecular and Cellular)short article to read beforehand (some interviews)
Classical Archaeology and Ancient Historywritten work (two pieces of writing)
Classicswritten work (two pieces of writing)
Classics and Asian and Middle Eastern Studieswritten work (two pieces of writing)
Classics and Englishwritten work (two pieces of writing)
Classics and Modern Languageswritten work (one piece of writing)
English and Modern Languageswritten work (one piece of writing)
English Language and Literaturewritten work (one piece of writing)
Fine Artportfolio (submitted online via SlideRoom); second submission of recent work after shortlisting
Historywritten work (one piece of writing)
History (Ancient and Modern)written work (one piece of writing)
History and Economicswritten work (one piece of writing)
History and Englishwritten work (two pieces of writing)
History and Modern Languageswritten work (one piece of writing)
History and Politicswritten work (one piece of writing)
History of Artwritten work (two pieces of writing)
Musicwritten work (three pieces of writing); performance video (up to five minutes) before interview
Philosophy and Theologywritten work (one piece of writing)
Religion and Asian and Middle Eastern Studieswritten work (one piece of writing)
Theology and Religionwritten work (one piece of writing)

Twenty-six courses set no task for the interview itself; what comes before it is the application, with any admissions test or written work the course asks for. The page on how many applicants Oxford interviews, course by course shows how many applicants each test lets through to interview.

5. The Foundation Year courses

Oxford's Foundation Year courses interview separately from the main December round. All four list March:

CourseInterview datesPlaces
Foundation Year (Chemistry, Engineering and Materials Science)March12
Foundation Year (PPE)March8
Foundation Year (Law)March8
Foundation Year (Humanities)March18

6. How this page was built

Interview dates, the number and length of interviews and the mode come from each course's page in the University of Oxford's undergraduate course listing. Each page was read on 18 October 2026 and the figures were exported on 21 October 2026; nothing on this page is estimated, and where a university does not publish a figure the page says so. Universities change interview arrangements between cycles, so treat the course page you are applying to as the final word and this page as the way to compare courses side by side.

7. What to do next

Find your course in the table and put both its main dates and any additional dates in your diary now, then keep the whole of 7 to 18 December 2026 free: Oxford tells you which days are yours in the invitation, not before. Read what an Oxford interview is like for the number of interviews and what happens in them, and how many applicants Oxford interviews, course by course if you want to know how likely an invitation is for your course. Then start practising out loud with someone who will push back: the step-by-step guide to how to prepare for an Oxford interview covers what to practise, and the mistakes Oxbridge interviewers see most what to avoid.

FAQ

When are Oxford interviews in 2026?

From 7 to 18 December 2026 for the main round, with each course using a few days inside that window; the Foundation Year courses interview in March. The table on this page gives the exact dates for every course.

Are Oxford interviews online in 2026?

Yes. Every Oxford course page lists the interview as online, and that applies to all 48 courses in the December round.

When do Oxford interview invitations arrive?

Oxford's Medicine page says invitations usually arrive mid-November to early December. Other course pages publish the interview dates only, so check your email from mid-November.

How many interviews does Oxford give?

It depends on the course: most describe two or more, often at two different colleges or one for each half of a joint course, some say at least one, and the languages courses give one per language.

How long is an Oxford interview?

Where a course page states a length it is usually between 25 and 45 minutes, for example about 25 minutes for Mathematics and around 30 minutes for Computer Science; some History colleges give two interviews of 15 minutes. Most pages give no fixed length.

References